Arkansas Trappers Association November 2011 Report

President — Gary Helms, 1092 Vanderbilt Rd., Texarkana, AR 71854; phone: 870-772-3834; e-mail:

Vice President — Aaron Hitchcock, 9331 Sister Ln., Mulberry, AR 72947; phone: 479-997-8401

Secretary/Treasurer — Karen Davis, 1350 Hwy 70 E, DeQueen, AR 71832; phone: 870-642-3674

NTA Director — Mike Fischer, 13823 Masoner Rd., Lonsdale, AR 72087; phone: 501-939-2325

Editor — Bill Fields, 543 Riverbend Rd., Mammoth Spring, AR 72554; phone: 870-625-7457; e-mail:

Membership Options:

• Individual membership including subscription to The Trapper & Predator Caller — $20
• Family membership with subscription — $25

Complete membership application on first page of
association section and send dues to:

ATA, Secretary/Treasurer
Karen Davis
1350 Hwy 70 E, DeQueen, AR 71832

Won’t be long now until fur season is in full swing. Throw in a littleThanksgiving and Christmas, some cold weather, rain, snow, ice, and it just doesn’t get any better. There should be some new and improved trappers in the woods after ATA Trappers Workshop on October 28th – 30th. The deadline for reserving cabins and meals was October 15th, but if you can show up for a day at the workshop on Saturday the 29th, come on down and we’ll try to find a spot for you. Might want to bring your own lunch if you don’t have a reservation. For more information on the workshop at Camp Clearfork west of Hot Springs, contact Aaron Hitchcock phone 479-997-5361 or check the ATA website.
The ATA Annual Convention was held Sept 9-10 at Petit Jean State Park near Morrilton. Chuck Laden cooked BBQ on his Choo-Choo Train Smoker/Grill for the Friday night meal and get-together. Friday night Directors meeting topics were financial reports, trapper permit results from last year, the ATA website, AGFC regulation changes, the 2012 NTA SE Regional, proper storage of our tanned fur collection and the proposal by District Committee which was approved to be put to a vote at Saturday’s general business meeting.
Blake Sasse with AGFC attended the directors meeting and explained the AGFC regulation process, AGFC’s continuing support of trapper workshops and wants everyone to be aware of a wording mistake in the regulation booklet regarding the measurement of foothold traps. Regulations have not changed in how to measure foothold traps. Traps that were legal to use last year are still legal to use this year.
Jim Spencer, Charlie Bass and Mike Fischer gave trapping demo’s Saturday morning. Jim got permission from the park and AGFC to set DP traps on the lake shore and had a live raccoon to start off his demo. The coon was released and watched the rest of the demo from the treetops. Claudine Shankle had a group of kids following her around most of the morning doing all sorts of fun activities. The supply vendors and tailgaters had a steady stream of customers all day.
At the general business meeting, President Gary Helms and NTA Director Mike Fischer reported that they took a tour of the Pope County Fairgrounds and believe the fairgrounds will be an excellent site for the 2012 NTA SE Regional event, with plenty of space for camping, demonstrations and vendors. The NTA is counting on 30-40 volunteers from the ATA to help keep the convention running smooth. Mark your calendar for April 13-15 and let Gary or Mike know if you can help.
The District Committee proposal was passed on a vote of 22 to 20. The proposal will divide the state into 9 districts, with each district having a representative that will sit on the ATA Board of Directors. Each district will have at least two meetings per year, one before the spring directors meeting and one before the annual convention. District Representatives were appointed for one term by drawing a name from those that volunteered.
District #1: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Madison, Newton, Pope, Washington Counties. Representative is Dustin Lunsford.
District #2: Baxter, Cleburne, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Marion, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren Counties. Representative is Charlie Bass.
District #3: Clay, Craighead, Greene, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Randolph Counties. Representative is Alex Lane.
District #4: Garland, Logan, Montgomery, Polk, Scott, Sebastian, Yell Counties. Representative is Terry Funderburk.
District #5: Conway, Faulkner, Lonoke, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, White Counties. Representative is Heath Shaw.
District #6: Crittenden, Cross, Lee, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, St. Francis, Woodruff Counties. Representative is Tony Malone.
District #7: Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Pike, Sevier Counties. Representative is Randy Davis.
District #8: Calhoun, Clark, Columbia, Dallas, Grant, Hot Spring, Nevada, Ouachita, Union Counties. Representative is Tim Ross.
District #9: Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Cleveland, Desha, Drew, Jefferson, Lincoln Counties. Representative is Jackie Reed.
After the business meeting, the Mr and Mrs Trapper of the Year Award was presented to Vettie and Sue Waller of Junction City, Arkansas. The Trapper of the Year Award was presented to Milton Smith of Farmerville, Louisiana. Milton outbid some kids and everyone else for a dozen traps at the auction and then turned around and gave the traps back to the kids. I’m pretty sure I saw one little girl give Milton a peck on the cheek! Thanks Mr. Smith!
A huge thanks go out to all of the convention volunteers and convention organizers David White and Vettie Waller.
Stay safe this season and hope to see ya in the woods and streams!

— Mark Alexander

Related Posts

Leave a Reply