Nebraska Fur Harvesters November 2012 Report

President — Don Miller, Box 15, Loup City, NE 68853-0015; 308-745-0572; cell 308-440-2951

Vice President — Adam Duryea, 80406 Victoria Springs Rd, Merna, NE 68856; 308-643-0430; cell: 308-643-9178

Secretary — Stephen Vantassel, 701 S. 55th St., Lincoln, NE 68510; 402-489-1042

Treasurer — Jason Reynoldson, 2142 State Highway 14, Albion, NE 68620-5033; 402-395-6805; Cell: 402-649-3832

Legislative Representative — George Wagner, 201 Main Ave., Winnetoon, NE 68789; 402-847-3398

Public Relations Director — Doug Eskew, 41521 Rd. 764 Gothenburg, NE 69138; 308-537-2919

NTA Delegate — Jason Reynoldson, 2142 State Highway 14, Albion, NE 68620-5033; 402-395-6805; cell: 402-649-3832

FTA Delegate — Roy Greenfield, 16535 145th Rd., Amherst, NE 68812; 308-826-5155

Website — Dave Hastings, 1805 O St., Ord, NE 68862; 308-728-7780


Membership Options:

• Individual membership including subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $25

• Individual membership without publication — $10

• Junior (14 and under) membership with publication — $16


Complete membership application on first page of association section and send dues to:

Trompke Bookkeeping and Business Services

PO Box 89, Loup City, NE 68853-0089



Hello Everyone

Just a quick report on another great convention. Wynn and Candy Hall are surely to be commended for all their hard work, planning, and preparation for the Crete event. Also, they had a very good crew of hard-working and efficient volunteers helping to set up and keep things moving. On Friday, after a full day of demos and activities, Wynn and his crew of chefs put on a fish fry, which was well attended and enjoyed by all. A special thanks to john Schroeder, yes the cage trap maker, for a very large donation of fish—(wonder if I could get him to take me out next trip). THANK YOU to all who helped with this!

Saturday was another full day with demos, business meeting, ball toss (thanks Mike and Mrs. Lance—Mike has been doing this for years). I believe this was the first year for the Skillet Toss—had 16 entrants; this was dominated by Cindy Messersmith, Jamie Messersmith, and Ashley Eskew. At the end of the afternoon, the barbeque was held. Thank you to Petska Fur for buying the meat, as they have for years. Moving right along to the Consignment Auction, which was in its second year, and has grown to be a large event. This was handled smoothly with Doug Eskew auctioneering along with Jamie Messersmith as ring person. Cindy Messersmith and Ashley Eskew were clerks. THANK YOU!

The White Elephant Sale followed, interspersed with drawings and awards. The NAFA/NFH 50/50 drawing was 1st Michael Nelson, 2nd Steve Englehart, 3rd Joe Jack. In the youth division, 1st Kinely Macke, 2nd Ashley Eskew, 3rd Caleb Dowling. NAFA also presented a check for $2,592.09 to the Association. The winner of the gun raffle was Fred Hagen of Ainsworth. The Dunn Knife raffle was won by John Fox. The membership drawing of tickets for those present were Eric Stone, 4 years membership extension, and Michael Littlefield, $25 gift certificate. The drawing from the entire membership roster was won by Timothy Brandt of Pleasanton, a 4-year membership extension; Jeff Bujarski of Staplehurst won a $25 gift certificate.

Once again, we were honored with a group from Iowa who certainly helped our auction, and also helped in any way they could. Craig Sweet, Iowa Association’s President and Patty Stiles were there to the end of cleanup.

Until next month. — Don Miller

Related Posts

Leave a Reply