New Hampshire Trappers Association November 2009 Report

President — Dwight Pennell, P.O. Box 136, Center Tuftonboro, NH 03816; phone: 603-539-7954

Vice President — Larry Torr, 75 Polly Ann MHC Gerrish Rd Dover, NH 03820 (603) 742-7554

Membership Director — Roger Burnham, 159 North Shore Rd., Hebron, NH 03241; phone: 603-744-3561; e-mail:

Clerk – Bill Anderson, Box 114, South Springfield, NH 03284; phone: 603-763-5548

Treasurer — Mike Kazak, 72 Riverview Dr., Charlestown, NH 03603; phone: 603-826-3959

Education Director — Mike Morrison, 737 Old Homestead Highway, Swanzey, NH 03446; phone: 603-352-8468

NTA Director — Steve Bennett 16 Spruce Cove Rd Northwood, NH 03234 (603) 496-4353

Legislative Director — Scott Borthwick, P.O. Box 81, Canaan, NH 03741; phone: 603-523-9284

NH Fish & Game Liasion — Fred Shepard, P.O. Box 23, Deerfield, NH 03037; phone: 603-463-7473

Membership Options:

• Individual membership including subscription to The Trapper & Predator Caller — $24
• Family with subscription to The Trapper & Predator Caller — $30
• Junior (under 16) with subscription to The Trapper & Predator Caller — $12
• Lifetime membership with subscription to The Trapper & Predator Caller — $300
• Life (over 65) — $100
• Life (over 75) — Free w/previous continuous three membership
• The NHTA requires a Mission Statement for all new members to be signed and dated. The Mission Statement is on the application. Please send a letter, call or e-mail requesting a membership application to Roger Burnham address below.

Complete membership application on first page of association section and send dues to:

NHTA Secretary/Membership Director
Roger Burnham
159 N. Shore Rd., Hebron, NH 03241


The NHTA Annual Fall Weekend was held Sept. 19 and 20 this year at the Owl Brook Hunter Education Center in Holderness, NH. We were fortunate again this year to enjoy two days of great fall weather. Thank you to the vendors that set up and stayed the weekend. Attendance was good for Saturday and light on Sunday.

NHTA directors Bob McMasters, Bill Bailey, Steve Bennett, Larry Torr and Mike Kazak along with Toby Edwards from NY, put on demonstrations. NH Fish and Game Hunting Education Coordinator Tom Flynn volunteered both days to assist Sean Williamson and Paul DeBow with activities for children. The kids enjoyed shooting .22 rifles and bow and arrows. For the smaller children, there was instruction with the tomahawk throw and “Indian” tug-o-war.

Association President Dwight Pennell and Director Bonnie Pennell did the lion’s share of providing the dinner for Saturday: a pig and turkey roast. Thank you also to the many directors that helped out vending in the morning with coffee and doughnuts and Sunday’s hamburger and hot dogs. This year, there were plenty of directors on hand to allow a smooth sail for the event. I did not get the details on the pie-baking contest; I will track those down for next month’s newsletter.

At Sunday’s business meeting, Vice President Larry Torr was voted in as president and current President Dwight Pennell was voted in as vice president. The remaining board members have agreed to stay on at their respective posts for another year. Steve Bennett is manning the post as NTA director while awaiting a volunteer to take over the reigns at that position.

Awards Committee member Steve Schlangen presented this year’s trapper of the year award to Sullivan County Director Jack Yazinski. The Association has been grateful to Jack these last few years for his legal advice and guidance. Merrimack County Director Bill Bailey was this year’s inductee into the NH Trappers Association’s Hall of Fame. This year’s Octave Delude award was presented to The Split Diamond Ranch for helping with last year’s banquet.

NHTA presented lifetime membership certificates to Steve Bennett and Thomas Dube.
This year, the association opted to present cash prizes to the top three gun raffle ticket sellers. Don Wescott received $25 for selling the third most tickets (104), Craig Williams sold the second most (109) and received $50 and this year’s top ticket seller was Rueben Parker who received a $75 dollar award. The Association appreciates the contributions of all members with the sale of each individual ticket, but these three are to be recognized for their extra effort. Thanks again, Rueben, and thanks to Steve Schlangen for organizing the raffle.

This year’s gun raffle winners: Scott Estabrook of Colebrook, NH, won the Browning X-bolt Hunter .30-06, Charlie Renfors of Webster, NH, won the Browning X-bolt Hunter .270, Mark Tumlin of Raymond, NH, won the Remington Model 7-CDL .243, Reg Glidden of Wolfeboro, NH, won the Remington Model 870 Express 12 gauge, Brian Halvonile of Harrisville, NH, won the Savage 93 R17GV .17HMR, Billy Royce of Washington, NH, won the Marlin 336 .30-30, Larry Torr of Dover, NH, won the Savage 200 .30-06, Dan Dionne of Clarksville, NH, won the T/C Pro Hunter Muzzleloader .50 cal., Mark Houghton of Walpole, NH, won the T/C Triumph Muzzleloader .50 cal. and David Nadeau of Center Sandwich, NH, won the Ruger 10/22 .22LR.

Next month: a complete list of officers and directors and details on the upcoming benefit banquet scheduled for Feb. 10, 2010, to be held at the Bektash Temple in Concord, NH.

Best to all.

— Paul DeBow – Grafton County director

Related Posts

  • No Related Posts Found

Leave a Reply