New Hampshire Trappers Association November 2011 Report

President— Larry Torr, 75 Polly Ann MHC Gerrish Rd Dover, NH 03820 603-742-7554

Vice President — Dwight Pennell, P.O. Box 136, Center Tuftonboro, NH 03816; phone: 603-539-7954

Membership Director — Roger Burnham, 159 North Shore Rd., Hebron, NH 03241; phone: 603-744-3561; e-mail:

Clerk – Bill Anderson, Box 114, South Springfield, NH 03284; phone: 603-763-5548

Treasurer — Mike Kazak, 72 Riverview Dr., Charlestown, NH 03603; phone: 603-826-3959

Education Director — Mike Morrison, 737 Old Homestead Highway, Swanzey, NH 03446; phone: 603-352-8468

NTA Director — Steve Bennett 16 Spruce Cove Rd Northwood, NH 03234 (603) 496-4353

Legislative Director — Scott Borthwick, P.O. Box 81, Canaan, NH 03741; phone: 603-523-9284

NH Fish & Game Liasion — Fred Shepard, P.O. Box 23, Deerfield, NH 03037; phone: 603-463-7473

The New Hampshire Trappers Association held its annual two-day fall meeting September 17-18, 2011 this year at the Owl Brook Hunter/Trapper Education Center in Holderness, NH. The turn out Saturday was a bit below average and the crowd on Sunday was smaller. The weather was outstanding: cool morning, warm and sunny afternoon – just the formula to get anyone ready for trapping season.
The trapper education course that was being held in the classroom during the event took breaks that coincided with the demos that were held. This offered a great opportunity for new trappers to watch the making of a set. This year we had Sullivan County director Jack Yazinski and Treasurer Mike Kazak demonstrating beaver water sets, NHTA Clerk Bill Anderson demonstrate the construction and use of a weasel box, and Strafford County director Bob McMaster demonstrated the preparation of traps.
Grafton County directors Dwight and Bonnie Pennell loaned the use of and ran the smoker for the pig. Club president Larry Torr donated the pig. Along with the pig dinner Bonnie solicited donations of beans, various salads and desserts from members. Thank you, Bonnie, for running the meal show Saturday and the hot dog shack on Sunday. Mary Ann Jefferson and Sandy Burnham were also a great help in serving and clean up. Thank you guys.
Our good friend and tent supplier Toby Edwards was not able to attend our fall meet but did hustle over earlier in the week to set up the tents. Thank you.
Toby for coming out of your way, hope to see you next year. We had three vendors set up their booths and offer their goods. We appreciated them coming and sticking it out in a slow year; Bill Bailey Trapping Supplies, Pearly Champney, and Rick Barton.
The pie contest has evolved into two stages: pies and other non-pie desserts termed: “bars”. We had plenty of entries this year. Thanks to all of you that brought desserts and allowed us to scoff them down at the conclusion of dinner. This year’s top three prize-winning pies were all of the apple variety. Leandra was the first place winner and received a cash prize of $40. The second place $20 prize went to Merrimack County director Jim Hawkins. And third place was Nancy Yazinski receiving a $15 prize. Dessert bars: Cilla Muhone won the first place, $40 prize, for her pumpkin roll, Sarah received second place prize of $20 for her peanut butter bar and winning $15 for an apple crisp was Tori. Congratulations and thanks again for contributing.
The business meeting was held Sunday the 18th at the conclusion of he dinner hour. Most of the board members have agreed to stay on for another year, in the absence of individuals coming forward to show interest in the positions. President Larry Torr will remain along with treasurer Mike Kazak, membership director Roger Burnham, clerk Bill Anderson, Fish and Game liaison Fred Shepard, legislative liaison Scott Borthwick and education director Mike Morrison. At vice president; Jack Yazinski has agreed to take over for Dwight Pennell. Larry Torr read, for the record, those county directors that have agreed to stay on to represent the association.
During the meeting the association took care of a few in-house issues. One issue outside our group is a pending law suit in NH by a sportsman that is suing a landowner. This hunter fell out of a tree stand that he found in place on the landowner’s property. This case is of great concern for all sportsmen who wish to keep access to private lands available. Dan Dockham briefed us on the latest he has heard through the Wildlife Federation. Fred Shepard is watching this case and keeping us posted.
The gun raffle was held at the conclusion of the business meeting on Sunday. The winners this year, in order of the drawn ticket and the gun they won: Mike Myers: Browning X-Bolt Hunter .30-06, Belknap County Sportsmens Association: Browning X-Bolt Hunter .270, Arthur Cheney: Ruger M77 CR .243, Don Biddeford: Remington Model 870 Express 12ga. w/wood stock, Pete McKinley: Savage 93 R17GV .17HMR (Scope Package) w/Accu-trigger, Al Ziehler: Marlin 336W .30-30, Carl Cerello: Savage Axis .30-30 (no sights), Mike Gilpatric: T/C Pro Hunter Muzzleloader .50 cal. (blue/comp), Jody Shields: T/C Triumph Muzzleloader .50 cal (blue/weather shield) and Joe Reed got the Ruger 10/.22LR (wood/blue).
Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all of you that purchased and sold tickets. Those selling the most were awarded cash prizes this year. Reuben Parker sold the most (152) and received the first place award of $75, followed by Don Westcott (104) winning the $50 second place award and Craig Williams (84) received $25. Thank you guys. And a large “thank-you” to Rockingham County director Steve Schlangen for coordinating the gun raffle, managing the tickets and purchasing the guns.
This year Steve Schlangen, member of our awards committee, presented the annual club awards. Octave Delude: an award for the person outside the trapping community that has demonstrated great support for trappers and the sport of trapping, was presented to former Carroll County Fish and Game Commissioner Bob Rowan. Trapper of the Year: Bob McMaster, and trapper hall of fame inductee: Belknap County director Dan Dockham
Former “Trapper of the Year” recipients are asked to please contact any director or Steve Schlangen (603-895-0686) to relay information about the year of their award. We have misplaced our mink board plaque and need to remake the list. Boy, in this day of technology, we probably should have at least photocopied the board!
The Association also welcomed two new lifetime members this year: #104 Merrimack County director Dan Teague and #105 Brad Marshall.
The next two events the association will be planning are the winter fur auction and the banquet. We are in need of high energy volunteers to assist with the banquet. We look forward to hearing from you! Contact any director or President Larry Torr. Also, a reminder that the association is asking for donations of fisher for our continuing commitment to the Miss NH Pageant program to provide a fur jacket annually to each newly crowned Miss NH.
Best to all.

— Paul DeBow, Grafton County Director

Related Posts

Leave a Reply