New Hampshire Trappers Association November 2012 Report

President — Larry Torr, 75 Polly Ann MHC Gerrish Rd Dover, NH 03820 603-742-7554

Vice President — Jack Yazinski, 403 Bible Hill Road, Claremont, NH 03743; 603-542-3367

Membership Director — Roger Burnham, 159 North Shore Rd., Hebron, NH 03241; 603-744-3561;

Clerk – Bill Anderson, Box 114, South Springfield, NH 03284; 603-763-5548

Treasurer — Mike Kazak, 72 Riverview Dr., Charlestown, NH 03603; 603-826-3959

Education Director — Mike Morrison, 49 Laura Lane, Keene, NH 03431; 603-209-3823

NTA Director — Vacant

NH Fish & Game Liasion — Fred Shepard, P.O. Box 23, Deerfield, NH 03037; 603-463-7473


Membership Options:

• Individual membership including subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $24

• Family with subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $30

• Junior (under 16) with subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $12

• Lifetime membership with subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $300

• Life (over 65) — $100

• Life (over 75) — Free w/previous continuous three membership

• The NHTA requires a Mission Statement for all new members to be signed and dated. The Mission Statement is on the application. Please send a letter, call or e-mail requesting a membership application to Roger Burnham address below.


Complete membership application on first page of association section and send dues to:

NHTA Secretary/Membership Director

Roger Burnham

159 N. Shore Rd., Hebron, NH 03241



The New Hampshire Trappers Association held its annual two-day fall meeting September 15-16, 2012 this year at the Owl Brook Hunter/Trapper Education Center in Holderness, NH. The turn out Saturday was a bit below average and the crowd on Sunday was smaller. “Thank you” to all of you that attended and enjoyed some great demonstrations and good company. The weather was cooperative. No rain!

The trapper education course that was being held in the classroom during the event took breaks that coincided with the demos that were held. This offered a great opportunity for new trappers to watch the making of sets. This year we had our good friend from Vermont, Rick Schoonover, put on a couple of demonstrations; a unique beaver set and a flat set for fox/coyotes. NHTA Clerk Bill Anderson put on a demo of a fox/coyote set, Sullivan county director Ethan Yazinski set up a treasure hunt map for the children, President Larry Torr did a demo on water edge sets for mink/raccoon/muskrats, Secretary Roger Burnham did the fisher pole set and Hillsboro county director Dan Teague did one on snaring beaver. Thanks to all of you that volunteered for these demonstrations that help us to learn and improve our own techniques.

A few other acknowledgements: Grafton County directors Dwight and Bonnie Pennell loaned the use of the meal tent and assisted with running several events from serving the meal and running the country auction. Mary Ann Jefferson did a great job helping with the advertisement book this year, it came out great; and thanks to all of you that sold and purchased ads to support the association. Sandy Burnham was a great help working the reception desk: selling meal and raffle tickets and memberships. Thank you guys.

Our good friend and tent supplier Toby Edwards was not able to attend our fall meet but did hustle over earlier in the week to set up the tents. Thank you Toby for coming out of your way, hope to see you next year. We had three vendors set up their booths and offer their goods. We appreciated them providing supplies to attendees; Bill Bailey Trapping Supplies, Pearly Champney, and Rick Barton. Hope to see you all next fall!

The dessert contest had plenty of entries this year and no shortage of judges available to pick out the top three. First place prize was won by Nancy Yazinski, second was Francis Burnham, and third went to Maureen Teague. Congratulations and thanks for contributing!

The business meeting was held Sunday the 16th at the conclusion of the dinner hour. Jack Yazinski has agreed to serve a term as club president. Larry Torr, who has been our president for three terms, was acknowledged with a round of applause. Thank you Larry for pulling the cart and thank you for staying on as vice president for this next term. Most of the board members have agreed to stay on for another year. Roger Burnham will split his position. He will continue as secretary and the membership duties will be handled by new club member Cathy Denutte and her husband Brian Denutte. Mike Kazak will stay on as treasurer, Bill Anderson as clerk, Fred Shepard as Fish and Game liaison and Mike Morrison will continue as education director. Larry Torr read, for the record, those county directors that have agreed to continue representing the association.

The gun raffle was held at the conclusion of the business meeting on Sunday. The winners this year, in order of the drawn ticket and the gun they won: Randy Smith: Browning X-Bolt Hunter .30-06, Heath Lynch: Browning X-Bolt Hunter .270, Natasha Whittemore: Ruger M77 CR .243, Wade Reed: Remington Model 870 Express 12ga. w/wood stock, Jess Koch: Savage 93 R17GV .17HMR (Scope Package) w/Accu-trigger, Michael Perry: Marlin 336W .30-30, Jed: Savage Axis .30-06 (camo w/scope), Larry Torr: T/C Pro Hunter Muzzleloader .50 cal. (blue/comp), Jim Daley: T/C Triumph Muzzleloader .50 cal (blue/weather shield) and Butch Beauregard got the Ruger 10/.22LR (wood/blue).

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all of you that purchased and sold tickets. Those selling the most were awarded cash prizes this year. Reuben Parker sold the most (156) and received the first place award of $75, followed by Craig Williams (144) winning the $50 second place award and Donnie Westcott (128) received $25. Thank you guys. And a large “thank-you” to Rockingham County director Steve Schlangen for coordinating the gun raffle, managing the tickets and purchasing the guns.

This year Steve Schlangen, member of our awards committee, presented the annual club awards. Octave Delude: an award for the person outside the trapping community that has demonstrated great support for trappers and trapping was presented to Toby Edwards. Trapper of the Year: Dan Teague, and trapper hall of fame inductee: Belknap County director Dan Dockham

The next two events the association will be planning are the winter fur auction and the banquet. We are in need of volunteers to assist with the banquet. We look forward to hearing from you! Contact any director or President Jack Yazinski. The next banquet is tentatively scheduled for the 23rd of February 2013 at Alan’s Restaurant in Boscawen, NH. Tickets are likely to be around the $35 mark.

Also, a reminder that the association is asking for donations of fisher for our continuing commitment to the Miss NH Pageant program to provide a fur jacket annually to each newly crowned Miss NH. And for our yearly mount-replacement initiative: a donation of a nice prime fox in the round.

Best to all. — Paul DeBow, Grafton County Director

Related Posts

Leave a Reply