New Hampshire Trappers Association November 2013 Report


President — Jack Yazinski, 403 Bible Hill Road, Claremont, NH 03743; 603-542-3367

Vice President — Larry Torr, 75 Polly Ann MHC Gerrish Rd Dover, NH 03820 603-742-7554

Secretary — Roger Burnham, 159 North Shore Rd., Hebron, NH 03241; 603-744-3561;

Membership Director — Kathy Denutte, 9 Badger Glen Dr., Belmont, N.H. 03220

Clerk – Bill Anderson, Box 114, South Springfield, NH 03284; 603-763-5548

Treasurer — Mike Kazak, 72 Riverview Dr., Charlestown, NH 03603; 603-826-3959

Education Director — Mike Morrison, 49 Laura Lane, Keene, NH 03431; 603-209-3823

NTA Director — Peter Laughlin, 7 Birch Lane, Pelham, NH 03076

NH Fish & Game Liasion — Fred Shepard, P.O. Box 23, Deerfield, NH 03037; 603-463-7473


Membership Options:

• Individual membership including T&PC — $24

• Family with T&PC — $30

• Junior (under 16) with T&PC — $12

• Lifetime membership with T&PC — $300

• Life (over 65) — $100

• Life (over 75) — Free w/previous continuous three membership

• The NHTA requires a Mission Statement for all new members to be signed and dated. The Mission Statement is on the application. Please send a letter, call or e-mail requesting a membership application to Kathy Denutte at the address below.

Complete membership application on first page of association section and send dues to:

NHTA Membership Director

Kathy Denutte, 9 Badger Glen Dr., Belmont, N.H. 03220



The New Hampshire Trappers Association held its annual fall meeting September 21st, 2013 at the Owl Brook Hunter/Trapper Education Center in Holderness, NH. This was the first year that the association tried a one-day format and the results were positive. We actually sold out of meal tickets. It was nice to see so many new faces. Thank-you to the vendors that showed up to offer supplies: Bailey’s Trapping Supplies and Champney’s Trapping Supplies.

There were several demonstrations throughout the day. Our good friend from Vermont, Rick Schoonover, came over to show patrons tips on making sets for fox and coyote. Vice president Larry Torr demonstrated water sets for muskrat. Director Dan Teaque instructed on otter and beaver snares and director Dwight Pennell made ground and pole sets to demonstrate implementation of new NH Fish and Game Department rules for trapping within the “Lynx zone”. Sean Williamson provided assistance and instruction for kids at the .22 rifle range and Paul DeBow demonstrated handling beaver skinning, harvesting castor and stretching the skin on a steel hoop. Thanks to all of you and thanks to others that helped selling meal tickets, t-shirts, and memberships: Directors Brian and Cathy Denutte, President Jack Yazinski, and Secretary Roger Burnham.

A few other acknowledgements: Grafton County directors Dwight and Bonnie Pennell loaned the use of the meal tent and assisted with running several events from serving the meal and running the country auction. Sandy Burnham was a great help. Thank you guys. And, thank-you to Brian Denutte for spending the wee hours of Saturday morning baby-sitting the pig roaster and handling the carcass for the meal.

The dessert contest had plenty of entries this year and no shortage of judges available to pick out the top three. First place prize was won by Brianna Crosby ($75), second was Mary Laughlin ($50), and third went to Steve Bennett ($25). Congratulations and thanks for contributing!

The business meeting was held at the conclusion of the dinner hour. Jack Yazinski has agreed to serve a second term as club president and Larry Torr will stay on as vice president. Brian and Cathy Denutte will continue as membership Directors and agreed to take on the duties of Secretary. A new General Organizer position was established and will be filled this term by Roger Burnham. Mike Kazak will stay on as treasurer and Mike Morrison as our education director. This year, the association voted to expand the NH Fish and Game liaison position into a committee. Dwight Pennell, Roger Burnham and Larry Torr will join Fred Shepard in keeping up with and in touch with our friends over at the state department.

The association has voted to add a new type of membership for those that are not available for director duties but can be available for volunteer projects and be on call for legislative alerts and other club activities: Director Emeritus. Past directors Jim Hawkins, Art Whipple, Rocky Jones and Bob McMasters will be our first to serve at this position. Also, Francis Burnham was added as a lifetime member.

The Trapper of the Year Award was awarded to Belknap County Director Brian Denutte and this year’s inductee into the NHTA Hall of Fame is Art Whipple. Congratulation to you both!

The gun raffle was held at the conclusion of the business meeting. The winners this year, in order of the drawn ticket and the gun they won: David Morse: Browning X-Bolt Hunter .270, Noel Nason: Browning X-Bolt Hunter .308, Michael Howard: Ruger M77 Hawkeye Compact .243 win., Vincent Gilbert: Remington Model 870 Express 12ga. w/wood stock, Brian Ricard: Savage Axis .223 (Scope Pkg) w/blue-black synthetic, Mikayla Anderson: Marlin 336W .30-30, Ricky Donahue: Savage Axis .30-06 (camo w/scope), Jake Ward: T/C Pro Hunter FX Muzzleloader .50 cal. (stainless), Paul Morrison: T/C Impact Muzzleloader .50 cal. (camo) and Dick Giehl got the Ruger K 10/22 Takedown .22 cal.

Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all of you that purchased and sold tickets. Those selling the most were awarded cash prizes this year. Reuben Parker sold the most (188) and received the first place award of $75, followed by Donnie Westcott (157) winning the $50 second place award and Craig Williams (137) received $25. Thank you guys. And a large “thank-you” to Rockingham County director Steve Schlangen for coordinating the gun raffle, managing the tickets and purchasing the guns.

The next two events the association will be planning are the winter fur auction and the banquet. We are in need of volunteers to assist with the banquet and donations for the auctions. We look forward to hearing from you! Contact any director or President Jack Yazinski. The next banquet is tentatively scheduled for the 22rd of February 2014 at Alan’s Restaurant in Boscawen, NH. Tickets are likely to be around the $35 mark.

Also, a reminder that the association is asking for fisher donations for our continuing commitment to the Miss NH Pageant program to provide a fur jacket annually to each newly crowned Miss NH. Pelt donations of other skins are also appreciated.

Best to all. — Paul DeBow, Grafton County Director

Related Posts

Leave a Reply