North Carolina Trappers Association December 2013 Report


President — Tony White, 1318 Soundneck Rd. Elizabeth City, NC 27909; 252-330-2327

Vice President — Neal Jennings, 3037 Shady Grove Ch. Rd. East Bend, NC 27018; 336-699-3947

Secretary — Sharon Underwood, 4488 NC 218, Peachland, NC 28133; 704-272-7876

Membership Secretary/Merchandise Coordinator — Darien Huffman, 382 Zimmerman Road, Lexington, NC 27295; 336-775-4778

Assistant Membership Secretary — Vacant

Treasurer — Joey Smith, 262 Mewborn Church Road, Snow Hill, NC 28580; 919-738-4683

NTA Director — Nelson Pearce, 5612 Hopkins Chapel Rd., Zebulon, NC 27597; (H)919 269 6710; (C) 919 868 5592;

General Organizer — David Underwood, 4488 NC 218, Peachland, NC 28133; 704-272-7876

Education Coordinator — Todd Menke, 2663 Tar River Rd., Creedmoor, NC 27522; 919-528-9063;

Newsletter Editor — Josh Biesecker, 307 Bridget Way, Creedmoor, NC 27522; 919-880-4046


Membership Options:

• Individual membership including subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $25

• Youth membership (under age 16) with subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $15

• Lifetime membership with subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $350

• Senior citizens 70 years or older with subscription to Trapper & Predator Caller — $20

• Youth supporter without subscription — $10

• Adult supporter without subscription — $15

• Lifetime supporter without subscription — $100


Complete membership application on first page of association section and send dues to:

NCTA, Membership Secretary

Darien Huffman

382 Zimmerman Road

Lexington, NC 27295


Hello fellow NC trappers,I hope that this report finds you doing well. We will start with convention news.

I would like to start by thanking all who helped make yet another convention such a big success. The names are too many to name but it took a small army of volunteers to put on a show the size of our convention and you all have my gratitude and admiration. With the aproval of the members present at our general membership meeting, we made a couple of changes to the bylaws. The first concerns the magazine that comes with your membership. The members voted to change the wording so that we can change from the Trapper & Predator Caller to another magazine if the board deems it necessary. The second change states that in order to make bylaw changes, all NCTA members would have to be notified 30 days in advance. This would be done through my report in the magazine.

At our general meeting, Tom Tyree presented the NCTA with a check for $1063.53 from the sell of NC furs at NAFA. We presented NAFA and Tom Tyree each a plaque in appreciation for their partnership and hard work for NC trappers.

Here is the list of awards and drawings at the convention;

Director of the year Claudie Taylor

Conservationist of the year Toby Jenkins

Conservationist of the year Darrin Ball

President’s Award Leary Sink

Leadership award Tony White

Trapper of the year John Blanton

Hall of fame Ralph Hesseling

Hall of fame Marco Gibbs

Trapper bucket winners: Thomas Horsley, Kaylee Sugg, Shawn Mai

Gun raffle winners:

Ruger 10/22 Jonathan Stalls

Shotgun Rebecca forbes

Our contest winners were:

Tomahawk Throw: Trap Setting:

age 17 & up: ages 17 & up:

1st place: Ricky Donnelly 1st place:Lucas Brewer

2nd place:Denny Clevinger 2nd place:Kevin Myers

3rd place:Tommy Rains 3rd place: Kenneth Holland

ages 11 to 16: ages 11 to 16:

1st place: Devin Mai 1st place:Devin Mai

2nd place: Shawn Mai 2nd place:Shawn Mai

3rd place:Ezra Walls 3rd place:Thomas Horsley

age 10 and under: age 10 and under:

1st place: Kaylee Suggs 1st place:Will Holland

2nd place: Will Holland

3rd placeJarret Lee

Archery: Seed spitting:

ages 17 & up: ages 17 & up:

1st place: Jeremiah Harrell 1st place: Thomas Horsley

2nd place:David Harrell 2nd place Ezra Walls

3rd place: Shane Phillips 3rd place:Shawn Mai

ages 10 to 16: ages 10 to 16:

1st place:Jonathan Murphy 1st place: Carmeron Brewer

2nd place:Rodger Doughtie 2nd place: Tanner Massey

3rd place:Denny Clevinger 3rd place: Jeremy Creech

Black Powder: Pumpkin coloring:

ages 17 & up: ages 13 to 16

1st place: Wilry Royal 1st place:Thomas Hosley

2nd place:Kent Eanes 2nd place:Shawn Mai

3rd place:Denny Clevinger 3rd Jeremy Creech

ages 10 to 16: ages 7 to 12:

1st place: Savannah Royal 1st place:Adam Crumpler

2nd place:Jonathan Murphy 2nd Amber Beachy

3rd place Shawn Mai 3rd place: Cameron Brewer

Rolling Pin Toss: Ages 1 to 6

ages 17 & up 1st place:Courtney Creech

1st place:Jennifer Caldwell 2nd place:Tanner Massey

2nd place: Amanda Raxter 3rd place:Mike Webb

3rd place:Joy Royal

ages 10 to 16:

1st place: Casey Royal

2nd place: Chyanne Royal

ages 2 to 9:

1st place: Lilly Britt

2nd place:Kaylee Sugg

3rd place: Courtney Creech

As always, our Friday night cookout was a huge success. If anyone went away hungry, it was their own fault. A special thanks to Scott Painter of Blueridge Outdoor Supplies who donated the pig for our cookout as well as offering support for our education program. Scott is a great guy to deal with and a top notch trapping supply dealer because he is a trapper.

The BOD had a short meeting after closing out the convention and we had one major change in our roster. Darien Huffman turned over his post as membership secretary and Dan hunt has taken over in this position. Dan is an energetic, well spoken and enthusiastic guy and is passionate about growing our membership. He is a welcome addition to our Board. Our thanks go out to Darien for all of his hard work. He is keeping his position as our merchandise coordinator and we are greatful for that.

Before I close, I would like to remind you that as you go into this trapping season that we all must use our very best judgement while out in the field. Our actions can have a great impact on our future right to trap. Please give thought to how and where you set your traps. A little common sense will go along way. As always, try and take a youngster with you on all your outdoor pursuits. — Tony W. White


Related Posts

Leave a Reply