Northern Great Lakes Fur Harvesters, Inc. November 2013 Report

President — Ken Mills, 13004 W H-40 Hwy, Rudyard, MI 49780; 906-478-6631

Vice President — Lloyd White, 2739 W M-28, Dafter, MI 49724; 906-632-6071

Secretary — Jim Neitling, PO Box 171, Kinross, MI 49752; 906-495-5233

Treasurer — Mark A. Spencer, N4552 Spencer Lane, Moran, MI 49760; 906-292-4779;


Membership Options:

• Individual membership including T&PC — $22

• Junior (16 & under) with T&PC — $17


Complete membership application on first page of association section and send dues to:

NGLFH Secretary

Jim Neitling

P.O. Box 171

Kinross, MI 49752



Another successful convention is behind us and another trapping season is in front of us.

The wolf hunt is official for now. The licenses went on sale on the 28th of September. The sale was not as predicted. There were 100 unsold licenses left by the end of the day. If you still want to spend $100 on a license to have a chance at shooting one of 43 wolves, here is your chance.

I sure hope everyone is more prepared for this years trapping season than I am. I still have 15 days to get my stuff around so that I can put some steel in the ground.

If this weather holds it will be one heck of a nice time to set traps. The farmer’s almanac said that the weather temperature is supposed to be below normal and the precipitation is supposed to be above normal. What ever normal is.

Like I said, we had a really good convention this year. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves and attending the demos.

We had our General membership meeting on Friday night of the convention. Three awards were presented. Lloyd Steiner received the Presidents Award, Dwayne Ulman received the Mark Spencer Lifetime Achievement Award, and Ed Lundborg received the Trapper of the Year Award. Congratulations to each one of you for receiving these well deserved awards. You all earned everyone of these awards. We also had the President, Dale Hendershot, of the MTPCA association at the meeting to explain the changes of their by-laws in case an organization decides to go with them. He answered questions from the members pertaining to these changes.

As of now, our organization is still in tact and is not going to join up with them. This should clear up the rumors that are flying around.

We had an election of officers. Ken Mills resigned as president and Mike Seelman ran unopposed for this position. Mark Spencer and Tom Curtiss ran for the treasurer’s position. Mark won the seat for treasurer. The vice-president’s position was once again filled by Lloyd White who ran unopposed along with the director positions, Larry Pratt and Rick Marshall.

It was decided at the meeting to renew the Fur-Fish-Game subscriptions to the 20 school libraries that we have sent them to in the past. We received a check from Fur Harvester’s Auction for $589.01 that is ¼ of 1% of the fur sold. This money will go into the education fund.

I hope everyone has a safe and great season this year. If one of you get a wolf we’d like to hear about it and share it with the rest of the membership. The next meeting will be Wed. Oct. 16 at 7:30pm in Rudyard at the Lutheran church, if you get this T&PC in time. — Jim Neitling

Related Posts

Leave a Reply